Peace Out

August 11, 2009 at 10:31 pm 22 comments

Welcome to my blog.

It’s currently a mostly empty work in progress that will hopefully someday look like a real, lived-in blog. In the meantime, readers, you’re stuck looking at a lot of empty space and way too many commas.

If you’re reading this, you probably know that I’m off to the Philippines in nine days, which seems both impossibly soon and infinitely far away. We’ll have a day-long crash-course in San Fran and then a three-month training period in the Philippines and then I work for two years. After that, who the hell knows.

But that’s really all I have to say about my imminent departure. Actual details are sparse. I’ll teach secondary English on one of the 7,107 islands. Language, Internet access, access to plumbing and all the other little details will be figured out as I go. It’s exciting stuff. Scary, headache-inducing stuff, but mostly really, really exciting.

What I can attempt to explain now is why I’m going on this crazy little adventure in the first place. So, in no particular order, here are a few of the reasons I sent in my application last July (Spoiler alert: They’re pretty much the same reasons everyone joins) :

1. I just graduated from Syracuse with majors in newspaper journalism and religion. Those aren’t exactly booming career fields at the moment.

2. I love traveling. And I’m not yet ready to sacrifice that for something as mundane as a “full-time job” or a “career.”

3. I’m fascinated by other cultures. There’s no better way to experience how other people live than to jump in and live it with them.

4. I’m a journalist. There’s gotta be a good story in this somewhere, right?

5. It’s the right thing to do. This one’s the biggee, and without it all of the other reasons don’t even come close to justifying volunteering with the Peace Corps. As true as the others are, they’re also superficial. This provides the drive, I think, that keeps most volunteers going when the work seems tedious, pointless or impossible.

The one thing I took away from all my religion classes at ‘cuse was that words and ideas, for all their power, are inherently insufficient. After reading dozens of theological books about how the world should be, about how we should and could coexist, the ideas all began to frustrate me. Because no matter how eloquent the writer, or how lucid the argument, no problems are fixed by arguing about what should be. Dealing with right and wrong in the abstract is an important debate, but for it to have weight it must take place in actuality. We have to dive in and get dirty. The slow-moving, insufferably frustrating and difficult work of actually improving lives in our increasingly misbalanced world, no matter how small the degree, is a must if we’re going to complain about how bad things are. Otherwise, what’s the point?

So, if I passionately believe in the worldview those classes helped shape — and I do — I can’t not make a major commitment and keep my integrity. Hence the Peace Corps.

There you have it. My first blog post, in all its rambling, incoherent glory. Hopefully as I go on I’ll figure out a more comfortable style for these things, but just remember that the author, like this blog, remains a work-in-progress. Feel free to comment or e-mail me with any questions.

Also, I’ll post my mailing address once I get around to finding it. Mail me things.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Mangoes, Malaria Pills, and Broken English

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kissthebluesnow  |  August 11, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    Have a safe trip and a happy 2-year stay in this part of the world. The Philippines is a beautiful country, and people are basically good here, it’s just that many are being bruised by governmental incapacity to make life better for the majority.

    Anyway, I’ve been thinking of doing volunteer work (and securing a job as well) overseas, yet part of me asks “Wouldn’t it be better if you serve others in the Philippines first, before you go abroad?” But then again, service for others goes beyond race. So, thanks for choosing the Philippines as your first stop.

    By the way, I suggest you use music and films when you teach English. We’re a creative and musical lot here. Make learning fun (unlike what most schools do). Seeing Filipino kids having fun in your class will definitely make your day and make you feel good about your decision to come here.

    Godspeed.

    Reply
  • 2. mom  |  August 12, 2009 at 12:01 am

    We are proud of you Dan! I trust you to make the most our of every day and I am confident you will have an impact on all the lives you touch. Dont forget to call your mother often 🙂

    Mom

    Reply
  • 3. g/f  |  August 12, 2009 at 3:48 am

    I’m going to miss you!!! But i’m so damn proud of you!!!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Gail Hamner  |  August 12, 2009 at 10:49 am

    Great to hear from you, Dan.
    Best wishes for your journey and your initial settling in–we all look forward to your future posts, which just might reinvest your confidence in words and theories as the necessary reflection and consolidation of fruitful (or fruitless) action.

    mgh

    Reply
  • 5. sister  |  August 12, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    I love you and I’m going to miss you!! I am so proud of you though and while you are gong I’m going to become monopoly master…..you better watch out!!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Kris  |  August 12, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    I am a fellow 268er (our batch number). I would just like to point out that only two thousand some islands are actually inhabited. In addition, the southern region is off limits for American citizens due to terrorist activities. Compared to your previously stated seven thousand islands, this new information will help significantly when narrowing down where you may be teaching.

    Can’t wait to meet you in San Fran next week!

    Reply
    • 7. dthalkar  |  August 12, 2009 at 5:01 pm

      Hah, that’s all true, but it’s still more fun to say 7,000. Cya next week.

      Reply
  • 8. Monique  |  August 13, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    Yo Dan, I’m also a fellow 268er. Your reasons for joining are eerily identical to mine. I’m an English major and a Communications minor (with an emphasis in journalism) but, oddly enough, I won’t be teaching English. I’m a Coastal Resource Management volunteer. Anyway, good luck with packing! See you in a week! 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Herbert Miller  |  August 15, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    Basically and psychologically your trek is an escape from the humdrum of normal life, such as it is. I escaped when I went into the Navy during World War II, to see the world. Unfortunatly all I saw was the East Coast as I was stationed at The Bethesda Naval Hospital outside of Washington,D.C. I also wanted to escape my enveronment in the Bronx, N.Y.

    Eventually you will find your Shangre La!

    Reply
  • 10. Shauna  |  August 15, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    hi dan!
    i’m shauna, and i’ll be heading to the philippines with you! just stumbled on your blog while trying to get packing ideas (because how the hell are you supposed to pack for 2 years?)… anyways, good luck with all of that- see you in a few days!

    ps- i was a religion major too 😉

    Reply
  • 11. Herbert Miller  |  August 16, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    What religion did you major in?

    Reply
  • 12. Aunt Lisa  |  August 17, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    Hi Dan,

    We can’t wait to hear all about your adventures. You’re an amazing kid and we’re so proud of you!

    Aunt Lisa, Uncle Tim, Lauren and Katherine

    Reply
  • 13. Melissa  |  August 18, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    We’ll miss you Dan! Safe travels, and looking foward to reading about more adventures! And remember all those helpful hints we talked about. Once you’re there I am going to try to send you some Arnie. Because you won’t make it without it. A few wise words I learned in Spain – Caminante, no hay camino. Se hace camino al andar. (Traveler, there is no road. You make the road as you travel)

    Reply
  • 14. big guy  |  August 18, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    I cant believe that the day has come for you to leave.I am very proud of you and I am sure you will make the most of this experience. The football games wont be the same without you .I promise to wave the terible towel
    love

    Reply
  • 15. Steve Davis  |  August 19, 2009 at 1:18 am

    Big Dan: I hope you can find a combo hardware store/gas station/deli where you can work part-time for a little pocket change. … Looking forward to updates. … SD

    Reply
  • 16. Terra  |  August 19, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    Hey Dan, I read your blog and loved it,it was really good!!!!! I think u should do another I would read them all[I love readin bout adventures,i love it.] I hope u like it there and hope u also like the drive too. I know u will .=]

    -Terra K Miller =]

    Reply
  • 17. david  |  August 20, 2009 at 6:22 am

    hey Dan
    I think you are doing a great thing.
    goodluck and hope you acheive what you are looking for.
    don’t forget we are only 6 hours away !!!
    🙂 it is not too late to change the destination and come to our region
    for some peace activities.-> you could get a good meal on shabbath’s.:)

    Reply
  • 18. Lisa Kay  |  August 20, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    Hey Dan,
    You are well on your way, I hope your trip is a safe one,. I think what you are doing as a wonderful thing, and I am looking forward to reading your blog. 27 months sounds like a long time, but you will be home working with me before we know it…. LOL

    Reply
  • 19. Your worst fantasy football nightmare!!!  |  August 22, 2009 at 1:22 am

    Remember Dan what i told you. If a situation feels like it’s bad……………………it usually is!! So get the hell out of that situation!! You’ll be fine. Also, a wise man told me one time.Your only half a man if you don’t have a pocket knife. Carry it with you at all times and channel your inner MacGyver! LOL Be safe and I’ll be watching your blog. Later

    Reply
  • 20. Deets1  |  September 5, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    Dan! I think you know which one of us this is. You’re my homepage, and I dig your reasoning!

    Keep on keeping on

    Reply
  • 21. Herbert Miller  |  September 5, 2009 at 11:10 pm

    Eating frog legs. Next you will be eating escargot!

    Reply
  • 22. David J. Cope  |  September 19, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    I’ve loved following your adventures so far. Hated the egg story, though. I’m glad to see that you are experiencing the Real Truth that is not shown in the old saw “those who can do, those who can’t teach” Teaching is difficult but rewarding and you’ll be a great one. Just keep it up. Remember that you are in my prayers constantly. Also, no call from your mom yet but we are open whenever they need to talk. David

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

This blog chronicles my 27 months in the Philippines as a Peace Corps volunteer. The views expressed are mine alone and do not represent the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.